

Press Realese #5 - May 27, 2023

SUNDAY'S GRAND FINALE - THE ROLEX GRAND PRIX AND THE CAROSELLI

After three days of competitions blessed by a **very large audience** that literally packed Villa Borghese, from the Oval to the Galoppatoio, the fourth and final day of the **90th CSIO di Roma Piazza di Siena - Master d'Inzeo** will present as a highlight the eagerly awaited **Rolex Gran Premio Roma** (two-rpund category, h 160, € 500,000) will be the only international class scheduled in the natural amphitheatre that surrounds the sublime green oval where so many great champions have been crowned.

The action begins **at 12.00 noon** and the second round gets underway **at 14.45** with a competition of the highest level, always involving and particularly awaited by the public of Rome

Before and after the Grand Prix, **national competitions** will take place and the day will conclude with the traditional performances of **the Caroselli dei Lancieri di Montebello** (at 19.00), **San Raffaele** (at 19.30) and the **4º Reggimento Carabinieri** (at 20.00).



In the picture: Denis Lynch, winner in the Rolex Gran Premio Roma 2022 - ph. Sport e Salute / S. Ferraro



The Rolex Grand Prix is the most important competition in the show programme, with only the very best riders qualifying to fight for the prestigious title on the final day.

Poland's Adam Krolikiewicz was the very first winner with Picador in 1926, and the last winner was Ireland's Denis Lynch who reigned supreme with Brooklyn Heights in 2022. This was the fifth Irish victory in the history of the Grand Prix of Rome following Captain John Lewis with Limerick Lace in 1938, Captain William Ringrose with Loch an Easpaig in 1961 and Eddie Macken with the legendary Boomerang in 1978 before Lynch first won the title with Lantinus in 2008.

Holding the record for most wins in the Grand Prix is Italy's Piero d'Inzeo who held the trophy aloft on five occasions between 1962 and 1973. The most successful horse has been the great Flambeau C, ridden to victory by Frédéric Cottier from France in 1980, 1982 and 1984.

Italy has enjoyed 23 victories posted by 13 different riders while France has won 20 times with 14 different athletes. The trophy has gone to Germany on 10 occasions, with Franke Sloothaak scoring back-to-back wins in 1995 and 1996 with San Patrignano Joly Coeur. The last Italian winner was Lorenzo De Luca with Halifax van het Kluizebos in 2018.

There are only six lady riders on the Grand Prix of Rome Roll of Honour: the Americans Anne Kursinski in 1983, Margie Goldstein-Engle in 1997 and Chiara Bronfman in 2002, Australia's Vicky Roycroft with Apache in 1987, Germany's Helena Weinberg with Just Malone in 1988 and Eugenie Angot from France with Cigale du Tallis in 2004.



PRIZE N.7 KEP ITALIA: THE TEACHER DID HER HOMEWORK

In the picture: Jessica Burke © Sport e Salute/Simone Ferraro



What a long Irish winning wave at the **90th CSIO di Roma Piazza di Siena - Master d'Inzeo**. After the first historical victory scored in the **Intesa Sanpaolo Nations Cup** on Friday, Ireland signed another success in the opening class of day 3 in Rome.

The **KEP Italy Prize No. 7** (speed class, h 145, €26,200) was won by **Jessica Burke** riding **Inpulss** (53.50). The pair achieved a perfect and fast round, leaving behind specialist in speed classes such as Britain's **Matthew Sampson**, on Mgh Candy Girl (53.66), and Italy's **Emanuele Gaudiano** on Julius.D (54.35).

It is a fantastic story with a happy ending for 31-year-old **Burke**: «It's amazing... first participation in Rome, competing and winning on a fantastic stage like Piazza di Siena! Only four years ago I was still a high school maths teacher.... Then I had to make a choice and I decided to concentrate full-time on competitions. At this point, I can say that it was a good choice after all...».

WWW.PIAZZADISIENA.IT

Press Office: EQUI-EQUIPE

+39.331.4603432 / +39.06.45495394 / press@piazzadisiena.it

